Tabletti kahlittu ketjulla ja lukolla.

Cybercrime

What is phishing or malware all about? When you know the tools of criminals, you will not easily fall victim to cybercrime.

What is malware and how does it appear?

Malware is software used by criminals that is stored in a computer. It may be stored in your computer, for example, when you download files from the internet, attachments from email or when you click on links in social media. Criminals use malware in an attempt to collect user identifiers and key numbers or forge payments.

Example of how malware can work:

The software is activated when you login to the online bank. A separate pop-up window or a page imitating the bank’s website opens on the screen. You are asked for one or several key codes on the page. This is how criminals try to get online bank user identifiers.

Malware can also be used to forge the payment confirmation screen so that the payment will be directed to the criminal's account.

What is phishing?

Phishing is the act of attempting to acquire information for criminal purposes, for example, by SMS, email, in social media, by phone or through fake websites.

Phishing scams are email or SMS messages sent by criminals, for example, in the name of the bank in an effort to acquire customers’ online user identifiers and/or other personal details.  

Phishers seek to masquerade phishing messages as official correspondence, and the messages may look like they have been sent from a Group member cooperative bank or OP Financial Group or another reliable party. Phishing messages usually prompt their recipients to move to op.fi via the link in the message and to give information subject to phishing to criminals via phishing sites.

Always ensure that you are on the right op.fi services before you enter your user identifiers. The bank's certificate is visible in the browser address bar on the right OP eServices.

Cybercrime on social media

On social media, you may come across a phishing message disguised as a Facebook update that appears to have come from your friend. If the Facebook update or an advertisement seems suspicious, do not click it because via the link malware may be installed in your device or the update may start spreading. As a rule of thumb, if, say, an offer or ad seems too good to be true, it may be about phishing.